‘SNL’ To Air Last Four Shows Without Tape Delay

Katie Jerkovich | Contributor

NBC announced on Thursday that the final four episodes of “Saturday Night Live” will be telecast live from coast to coast without a tape delay, as is normally done.

The late-night sketch comedy show will be hosted by Jimmy Fallon, Chris Pine, Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson and Melissa McCarthy to finish off the season, according to the Hollywood Reporter. It will be the first time the show has aired live outside the Eastern Time Zone in its 40 year history. (RELATED: ‘Saturday Night Live’ Mocks Ivanka Trump For Being ‘Complicit’)

Saturday Night Live with Alec Baldwin (photo: YouTube Screenshot)

Saturday Night Live with Alec Baldwin (photo: YouTube Screenshot)

“SNL — enjoying its most popular season in two decades — is part of the national conversation, and we thought it would be a great idea to broadcast to the west and mountain time zones live at the same time it’s being seen in the east and central time zones,” NBC Entertainment chairman Robert Greenblatt said. “That way, everyone is in on the joke at the same time. Kudos to Lorne Michaels, the producers and cast for making SNL one of the most relevant and anticipated shows in the zeitgeist.” (RELATED: Alec Baldwin And Melissa McCarthy Return To ‘Saturday Night Live’ To Mock Trump Administration)

The episodes will air live in the following time zones.

11:30 p.m. Eastern

10:30 p.m. Central

9:30 p.m. Mountain

8:30 p.m. Pacific

The host schedule is as follows:

April 15 — Jimmy Fallon
May 6 — Chris Pine
May 13 — Melissa McCarthy
May 20 — Dwayne Johnson

The show has seen a major spike in the ratings over the current season as mocking President Donald Trump — with Alec Baldwin, Melissa McCarthy as press secretary Sean Spicer, and Kate McKinnon as Kellyanne Conway — has meant the largest ratings the show has seen in the last 24 years.

Katie Jerkovich

Contributor

Trending

Here Are Josephine Skriver’s Greatest Photos From 2017 [SLIDESHOW]
SI Swimsuit Counts Down To Christmas With GIF Of Rookie In A Bikini And Antlers
This Model Really Hates Wearing Clothes On Instagram [SLIDESHOW]
Everything You Missed On Instagram Over The Weekend [SLIDESHOW]